(This page awaiting an update.)

Andrew Blackman is a writer, blogger, writer encourager, and avid traveller. He researches writing opportunities and permits the passing on of the information to groups such as ours. I am indebted to him for his research. His site, well worth visiting can be found here:

Writing opportunities

Writers in the Forest

"From observing our expert foresters and wildlife rangers at work to watching our world-class scientists, we're looking for two writers to tell the story of our nation's forests.
 We’re looking for innovation and imagination, and welcome all forms of storytelling. We’re particularly interested in hearing from under-represented groups to diversify the voices and stories found in nature writing.

Deadline for submission is midnight 14th January 2019."

Full details: click here:

Writers' & Artists' Yearbook Short Story Competition

"For published and aspiring writers alike - enter our free annual short story competition and be in with a chance of winning a place on one of Arvon's four- or six-day Clockhouse writing retreats, as well as seeing your story published on www.writersandartists.co.uk.
 To enter, all you have to do is submit a short story (for adults) of no more than 2,000 words. The closing date for entries is midnight on Wednesday 13th February, 2019."

Full details: click here

The Nine Dots Prize

"The Nine Dots Prize is a prize for creative thinking that tackles contemporary societal issues. Entrants are asked to respond to a question in 3,000 words, with the winner receiving US$100,000 to write a short book expanding on their ideas."
Full details: click here

Comedy Women in Print Prize

"A major new award for witty women, the Comedy Women in Print (CWIP) Prize, announced that they are joining forces with HarperFiction. The publisher will offer the winning aspiring, comic female novelist a publishing contract and £5,000 advance. The runner-up will be offered a free MA in Creative Writing from the University of Hertfordshire. The closing date is 28th February 2019."
Full details: click here

The Iowa Review Awards

"Each January since 2003, The Iowa Review has invited submissions to The Iowa Review Awards, a writing contest in poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction. Winners receive $1,500; first runners-up receive $750. Winners and runners-up are published in each December issue."
Full details: click here


Nelson Algren Literary Award

"The Chicago Tribune’s Nelson Algren Literary Awards is a nationally recognized contest for original short fiction, named in honor of the Chicago literary great Nelson Algren. The contest has been held annually since 1981. The award has been presented to a number of distinguished authors, including Louise Erdrich and Stuart Dybek. There will be one grand prize winner ($3,500) and five finalists ($750)."
Full details: click here


Word Factory Apprentice Award

"We are seeking four emerging short story writers to be individually mentored by leading authors for FREE as part of our renowned Word Factory Apprentice Award running from July 2019-March 2020.

The chosen writers will be talented, supportive of our inclusive ethos and willing to participate in our activities. They will have access to our events and masterclasses — a programme offering creative inspiration, writer development and collaboration between leading and emerging writers."
Full details: click here